top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Dorman

You Can't Choose Your Ex-Pat Family

Updated: Aug 14, 2019



It's like taking you chances on a mystery prize and either being pleasantly surprised by your new tribe, or totally fascinated by personalities so opposite to you in every way, you couldn't have imagined it if you tried. Hopefully for most, it's somewhere in between...


That's what happens when you roll the dice and travel to a new country for an extended period of time. On top of any excitement/anxiety, it's like traveling back to your first day at a new school. Meeting new people, figuring out the social life, learning who you can actually tolerate, etc.


Overall, it's been such a fun and crazy experience to meet new people and hear some amazing stories, discover similarities between cultures, and find cool people that you stay in touch with after the whole experience is over. I feel strongly positive about my overall experiences with living abroad long term, and coming to love the people I work and socialize with. However, it's not always perfect.


Some ways to help cope with meeting a bunch of strangers while trying to work in a new country? Haha I'm still looking for new ways, but here the ones I know have helped me in the past:


1. Don't feel pressured into any situation. Just because you're abroad, doesn't mean you have to say yes to every damn drinking session, late night outings, or offered substance that you'd prefer not to do or have never tried before. I loved learning this lesson the hard way, and now that I know myself better and what my body and mind need (some actual sleep, a decent meal once in a while, some alone time, etc.) I try to make sure I find a nice balance between my social life and my sanity.


I've drank with amazing people until 6am in, then moved out of my house at 8am while still drunk. I've helped a fellow traveler avoid pressure to do cocaine by faking a few lines (don't ask). I've approached total strangers on the subway at midnight to borrow their phone to find my Couch Surfing host address.


2. Find time for yourself. A cup of coffee, an afternoon nap, a good book, a video game; whatever it is that can help you find some time to relax, because lord only knows you're not doing any relaxing while you're in a new country trying to figure out left from right. For me, it's the morning cup of coffee and sitting outside, soaking in the fact that you're somewhere new and exciting.


3. Don't over-pack your schedule. Whether you agree or not, tours and bucket-list bullshit will a lot of times ruin a perfectly pleasant trip. I used to travel and pack in activities every day to get the most out of my time abroad, and some of it was totally worth it. Most of it WAS NOT. And, I know so many people are out there saving money and ready to jump on a plane to see specific sites, and I'm not here to stop anyone from living their best life. However, consider a free walking tour, or sit at a local coffee shop and try to manage a few words in the local language, or explore grocery stores and libraries. Get into the culture and not just the sites.


Compared to the most Instagram-able places full of massive crowds with overpaid tickets and selfie sticks, exploring local places could give you amazing memories, instead of PTSD.



1 view0 comments
bottom of page