top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Dorman

Your Carry-On and You: Basic Training 101



My first time flying a cheaper airline across the ocean was for a trip to Iceland (graduation present to myself) in 2015. My carry-on was more important in this moment, because not only was I limited to one bag to take on the plane, but the damn thing was going to be weighed at check-in to make sure I met the 7Kg (15 lb) limit.


My friends, 15 lbs is NOT ALOT. At first you think "Oh I get 15 lbs to take with me, that's easy!", only to find out the night before that your light-as-a-feather carry on is already over 20 lbs and you haven't even tied your shoes on the back yet.


Long story short, to prevent any disappointment and/or rage at airport check-in, I stepped into the bathroom, deciding to take advantage of my winter attire (fluffy coat) by hiding a few heavier items on my person. I waddled to check-in, got the green light on my carry-on weight, then casually repeated my bathroom trip to return the items into my bag. Once you reach security, weight is no longer the focus... :)


Since this isn't something I am costumed to doing on a regular basis---although it felt pretty cool getting away with it---I started learning more about how I could properly pack a carry-on before each flight.


One of the biggest mistakes we all make is bringing too many items with us. And now with the influence of traveling Instragammers, we feel the need to take cute shoes, a nice flowy dress, 3 different sun hats, a partner who can efficiently use portrait mode, etc. If you're packing specifically for photos and social media posting, I applaud your willingness...


For those out there just trying to cram everything into a carry-on bag to dodge the bag check fees and prevent the loss of your bags (bit your tongue and knock on wood), remember that in any long term travel, you should think about:


1. Actually carrying your stuff with you everywhere you go...

Yeah, remember that fun fact? For you backpackers and travelers that cannot stay put, if you're life is on your back for a long period of time, you better pack light or pay the price.


2. Buying needed items along the way...

Most cities you go will have something resembling a grocery store, a pharmacy, retail shop, candy store; everything you could need! Do a little research ahead of time; Google Maps can do most of the exploring for you.


3. Clothing options and washing intimates...

We all know this game by now, and there are tons of cool clothing options online that you can wear 18 different ways to make packing a breeze. If you're like me and don't have money/energy to purchase and figure that nonsense out (although Rens waterproof shoes are made from recycled coffee are totally on my WANT list), think ahead of where you will be and how often you'll want to wash your clothes, especially underwear. And if you're settling into a new place for a while, return to thought #2.


4. Doing some research on the airports you'll be using...

Has you ever arrived at an airport and find out they have some wonky restrictions you weren't prepared for? For example, every airport in the city of London requires carry-on liquids to be 100g or 3g (knew that, cool), but the catch is that ALL of your liquids have to fit into one small zip-lock bag, or you cannot take it with you. I learned this the hard way. So, take a few moments to check out your departure and arrival airports, and what you can get away with.

Only limited quantities of liquids may be carried through airport security into the departure lounge. This includes bottled drinks, suntan lotion, fragrances, cosmetics, toiletries and all frozen liquids. Liquids may only be carried in containers holding 100ml or less. They must be carried separately in a single bag which is:
  • Transparent and resealable.

  • No larger than 20cm x 20cm (8in x 8in)

  • Able to close properly with all the items inside.

  • At security control, place the bag in the tray with your other items. Liquids in containers over 100ml will not be permitted through security – please pack them in your hold baggage instead.


What's my choice of carry-on you ask? Well there are quite a number of good options out there, but my personal favorite---as I've been traveling with it since 2016 and it's still in PERFECT shape---is the Osprey Farpoint 55L Travel Pack. I purchased my grey one before moving to New Zealand, and that backpack has been with me ever since. The detachable day pack also makes a perfect personal item if you're allowed one, so you can keep the small bag under your seat and the larger bag in the above compartments. I recommend checking them out in person so you know which size (S/M/L) will fit your body type.


The link above takes you to the retail store Recreational Equipment, Inc. or REI for short. I chose this link because REI is pretty eco-friendly in its business model, which I strongly believe should be highlighted and praised. They also have a great Used Gear program so you can recycle your gear or look for second hand items online. Thumbs Up.


2 views0 comments
bottom of page